Ideas

Well here we are again. I’ve been thinking of what to write about, so I just decided to write about what’s been on my mind, which is mostly related to what I’ve been reading lately.

Obviously, my summer reading list consists of old philosophy textbooks and expository works on topics such as consciousness and ‘the mind body problem’, so I really only have philosophical issues on my mind. So naturally, I was recently reading an excerpt from a textbook from a class I never ended up taking (long story), but there were two articles (one about Edwin Abbot’s Flatlands and one about Zeno’s paradox of motion) that were just fascinating to me. Don’t I sound pretentious??

I’m not going to focus on the specifics; if you’d like by all means check them out and I’d love to talk about them, since I’m sure my understanding of the ideas are pretty elementary. But that’s the point- I love the ideas.

Ideas are things that really can’t be destroyed and just continue to grow (yeah that’s probably me unintentionally quoting Inception- interesting movie btw). They fester in our minds and often take over a great deal of our time as we contemplate and try and understand and focus our efforts on mental activity.  My point I guess is that these ideas sometimes take me away from the real world, from all the shit I deal with and allow me to live in a world of pure cognition, in a world where I can focus on something that is wholly the idea itself, and not have to worry about cancer and dying and all the other shit that goes on in the world. But on the other hand, these ideas are so important because they do relate to the world we live in. We don’t live in a vacuum where all that exists are our mental processes and our interaction with great ideas (or do we…..). I like to think there is some relation between ideas and the world. And that itself is a complicated idea.

I’m not positive where I’m going with this one, I just wanted to say that I love the idea of ‘ideas’ and thinking about things that make me explore my mind and the world deeper than I ever have before. So I just wanted to share some of what I like to do in my boring free time as opposed to you all speculating that I engage in more exciting activities. I’d rather serve you the lame truth.

Well if you have any favorites ideas, philosophical problems of your own, things you want to discuss, feel free to comment. If you’d like to spend a post or two exploring different specific ideas, I’m down with that as well. Just let me know via comment.

Toodl’oo for now!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Ideas

  1. Joyce Levitas

    Gilad,
    I just stumbled across your blog. Actually, Ari had logged into Facebook on Richard’s computer and forgot to logout. Richard saw a post on Ari’s Facebook wall and then forwarded it to me.
    Gilad, you write just like your mother – so eloquently and philosophically. So, Gilad, write! Use your talent to touch others out there.
    Hoping that your good days outnumber your bad days and always thinking about you and your family,
    Joyce

  2. Sara

    i have no idea what you are talking about..haha

  3. Yossi

    Flatland was pretty awesome. You should take a look at sphereland though, quick read and goes further and deeper than flatland. Is good. Less of a rant on contemporary English society too.

    How ’bout that mind body problem, eh? My minds been wrapped around the issue for a while now (of course my homunculus seems to deny that there even is a problem… whenever I bring it up to him he just puts his fingers in his ears and sings “the song that never ends.”)

    I prefer the computational theory of mind approach. I’ll lend you some Stephen Pinker when I get back from Israel.

  4. tzvi h

    was i the only one who had no freakin clue what the hell happened @ the end of Inception?

  5. shoshana k

    hi gilad!

    long time no speak would be an understatement, but i just found out about your blog and i wanted to say hello. and thanks for writing. although it’s not necessarily easy to read or probably to write, it’s brave and the truth. so thank you.

  6. D.D.

    Hmm, maybe youll enjoy this paragraph out of a novel i am reading now…the concept relates. Ideas are nothing tangible until they enter your mind…

    “Stories were different, though: they came alive in the telling. Without a human voice to read them aloud, or a pair of wide eyes following them by flashlight beneath a blanket, they had no real existence in our world. They were like seeds in the beak of a bird, waiting to fall to earth, or the notes of a song layed out on a sheet, yearning for an instrument to bring their music into being. They lay dormant, waiting for their chance to emerge. Once someone started to read them, they could begin to change. They could take root in the imagination, and transform the reader. Stories wanted to be read…they wanted us to give them life.”
    “The book of lost things” by John Connolly

  7. Richard Buck

    Gilad,
    Was speaking with Aviva Spotts today, and she mentioned your blog and your recent philosophical posts. You might want to look at the following book by John Searle: “Mind, Language, and Society”. Searle addresses some of the topics you mention in your most recent post.

    Richard Buck (a.k.a husband of Dr. Sharon Buck)

    P.S. if you’d like to chat about philosophy sometime, let me know.

  8. Jenny

    Hi Gilad,
    I’m Emily’s mom and found your blog, which I love reading and I especially love this post.
    I just read Flatlands and would like to read the article you mentioned here about it, and also the other one about Zeno’s paradox. Would love to hear more about what you think on these.

  9. Nina

    Gilad’s ideas aloft now, but they remain alive as long as we do.

  10. Sarit

    I miss you and your witty blog

    I’ll never stop thinking of you,

    Love Sarit

  11. zuck

    Gilad,
    Thinking about you.
    Miss you big man, Shabbat dinners aren’t the same without you inviting yourself over.
    Much love…

Leave a Reply

